Lysol and Bubble Wrap

For the last two months my family has been passing around a persistent and nasty viral plague.  It started with my daughter, then jumped to my husband, then back to my daughter and now my youngest son has it. (We also managed to infect BOTH of my parents AND my brother when they were here at Christmas.) I have used gallons of Lysol, spraying any all and surfaces where germs may linger; keeping my house in an almost constant haze of disinfectant spray.  (I will not confirm nor deny if the dog actually got a bit of a Lysol mist down during one furious pass with the Lysol can.) My kids have been plied with Vitamin C, Sudafed, Mucinex, Tylenol and Motrin… anything and everything that might possibly treat their symptoms.  Then there are the ceaseless trips to the doctor’s office and the pharmacy (how many Z-packs and rounds of Augmentin can one family go through?), and endless loads of laundry as I wash every sheet and pillowcase that their snotty noses and croupy coughs infect. And STILL we seem to be caught in an endless vicious cycle of infection and re-infection!

I love these folks, but I swear on a stack of Grandma’s bibles that I may have to move to another state if they don’t get over all of this soon.  Ya’ll my babies and my husband become sniveling, whiney, shells of their normal selves when they are sick.  Somehow a clogged nose and some body aches mean a complete inability to even press a cup of water to their own parched lips.  I have logged about a zillion steps between the kitchen and the bedrooms and the couch on which all the ill lay in repose.  I have scratched backs until my hands are tired and given hugs and lovin’ while dodging phlegmy coughs and explosive violent sneezes.  The word “MOM”(which is repeated continuously day and night) is forced out past sore throats and drug out in a million long syllables that indicate a swiftly encroaching death if I don’t answer the call…immediately!  I am tempted at times to act like I have been struck by sudden deafness; but in the end my heart hurts to see them sick, so I fetch more Ginger-Ale and sing one more verse of Soft Kitty. I promise on all that is holy, if I EVER get them all well again I am going to wrap them in Lysol dipped bubble wrap before sending them back out into the world.  (Just zip your coat up over that bubble wrap baby and go on out and play.  No one will notice…I promise!  You look great!)

While pondering how to “cure” my family once and for all from this never-ending plague, I began to think about how sin is just like a nasty virus. It has a way of continuously infecting and re-infecting our lives. Do you think that God ever just looks at us and shakes his head thinking; again?  You are infected again?  Fortunately God provided us with the ultimate vaccine when he sent his son to die for us, but even with that our lives are often inundated with the virulent virus of sin. How many times have we found ourselves riddle with the consequences of sin in our lives and cried out to God to help us?  As our Abba Father that loves us beyond reason, his heart must be broken to see us in such a state.  I believe that God wants to see us whole and well; but we continually re-infect ourselves with the sin of the world.  It is easy to do.  Those nasty sin viruses are everywhere!

The worst part about it all is that I KNOW those things that will re-infect my soul and still, all too often, I expose myself to them.  Are you that way too?  If so, maybe we should look together at the prescription that God has already written for us.

  • Seek help from the professionals.

Recognize when you are “infected” with sin and seek out the Great Physician.                          Romans3:23              Psalms 51:10

  • Increase your fluids.

Drink long and deep from the well of living water that is Jesus Christ.                                          John 4:14

  • Get plenty of rest.

Lay your burdens down.  Find rest in the Lord.                                                                                         Matthew  11:28

  • Wash your hands.                                                                                                                           Wash your hands of sin.                                                                                                               James 4: 7 – 8
  • Take your medicine as prescribed.

Take the medicine of prayer to fight against reinfection.                                                                    Matthew 26:41

 

Following this prescription isn’t hard.  It is easier than swallowing a spoonful of yellow Triaminic.  (If you don’t know what I am talking about, bless your heart, you missed out on one of the vilest medicines in the history of ever!) The best part of it all is this; when we are sick with the sin that has infected our lives and we crawl helpless into the lap of our father, calling out his name through parched lips and aching throats, he wraps his mercy, love and forgiveness around us.  He does not turn a deaf ear to our pain.  He sees us through the blood of his son and the love of his heart and cleanses us once again.  Praise God! His forgiveness and mercy are effective and complete 100 percent of the time. And that my friends is much better than a can of Lysol and bubble wrap!

About andanotherthing3

I am a wife, a mother, an assistant principal and a work in progress!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, God's word and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lysol and Bubble Wrap

  1. Fred Brown says:

    “This is His commandment, that we believe in the name of His Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, just as He commanded us.” 1 John 3:23. “So then my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” Phil 2:12-13. Seeing and worshiping Jesus, some doubted so Jesus reassures and emphasizes that “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matt 28:17-20. The picture of obedient love is “a great multitude which no one could count, from every nation and all tribes and peoples and tongues, standing before the throne and before the Lamb, clothed in white robes, and palm branches were in their hands; and they cry out with a loud voice, saying “Salvation to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb.” “Amen, blessing and glory and wisdom and thanksgiving and honor and power and might, be to our God forever and ever. Amen.” Rev 7:9-12

    Like

Leave a Reply

