I have become my mom!

Before I begin, let me be very clear that I love my mom very much.  She is truly one of the most amazing women that I know, and I am grateful everyday that I am her daughter.  However, as a strongly opinionated teenager of a strongly opinionated mother, there were many times growing up when we didn’t exactly see eye to eye.  Like all ornery teenagers, I SWORE to myself that I would NEVER  be like my mom. NEVER! (Insert vehement foot stomp here to emphasize the point!)

Flash forward to 2017: I have BECOME my mother!

I can’t tell you exactly when the slide towards “becoming Rebecca” began.  Maybe it was the first time I noticed HER hands sticking out of MY sleeves.  Maybe it was the realization that flats can be adorable, and that there is truly no such thing as over accessorizing.  Maybe it was the recognition that a clean house makes me happy and messes make me crazy.  Whatever the beginning of the transformation was, the day I heard my mom’s words come falling out of my mouth I knew that I was well on my way to becoming my mother.

Can any of you ladies out there relate to the abject horror of the first time you heard your mom’s words come out of your mouth?!  I remember being in Kroger with my now grown son, who was a toddler at the time.  What his offense was I can’t remember, but I clearly recall hearing myself say, “If you think for one minute that you are going to…”  It was right about here that the truth of realization crawled up my spine and slammed into my brain!  WARNING! WARNING!  Your MOM used to say that!  For just the briefest of seconds  there was a painful pause as I waged war with myself.  Then, the clanging warning in my head became the stunned realization that SHE-HAD-BEEN-RIGHT-ALL-ALONG!  You know that scene in  How the Grinch Stole Christmas where the Grinch finally “gets it” and his heart grows three sizes that day?  I swear, this is what happened in my brain.  I bet I stood there with that weird Grinchy grin on my face; looking both confused and awestruck, as my brain grew three sizes.  Mom had been right all along!

This moment solidified my transformation and in all honesty I now enjoy recognizing the similarities between my mom and I.   There are very few days that pass that I don’t find myself repeating something that my mom used to say to me.  Whether it is a word of encouragement, or a word of caution.  A word of clarification or a word of love. Every once in awhile when my mom and dad are visiting, I will be extolling a piece of “mom wisdom” to one of my cherubs when I will catch a glimpse of my mom out of the corner of my eye; standing there  giving me a knowing head nod with a gleam in her eye that is just a little bit I told you so, and a whole lot of pride.

After my parents most recent visit, as I was driving home from dropping them off at the airport, I began to reflect on how I have “become my mom”.  This got me to thinking that God, as our heavenly father wants us to become more and more like HIM each day!  He wants our hands to resemble his as they reach out to help others.  He wants our house to be in order as we follow his commands for our lives.  He wants us to accessorize with the belt of truth and the breastplate of righteousness.  But mostly, he desires to hear HIS words come out of OUR mouths! Words of encouragement, promise and peace.  Words of love, mercy and forgiveness.  Truly, his words are an extraordinarily powerful weapon against darkness and despair.

Think for a minute about what happens when God speaks!  He spoke and light sprung from the nothingness.  He spoke and billions of stars in never ending galaxies were spun into space.  He spoke and vast oceans with depths yet unknown formed and began their unceasing ebb and flow.  He spoke and Mary became a virgin mother.  He spoke and water was turned into wine.  He spoke and healed the sick.  He spoke and raised the dead.  He spoke and called forth the lightening and the waves.  He spoke and calmed the storms. He spoke and declared it finished!  There is awesome power in the words of God.

We may not have the power through God’s words to create a universe or raise the dead, but we do have the power to speak his words of promise and hope into our own lives and into the lives of others.  We just need to come to the stark realization that his words were right all along!

Of all the ways we strive to become more like our heavenly father, let it be our words, echoing his very heart that identify us as one of his own.  I believe that when we do this, when we speak the word of God, when we claim his promises and pour out his words of love and life on others, that our heavenly father smiles and gives us a knowing nod, with a gleam in his eye of just a little bit of I told you so and a whole lot of pride.

About andanotherthing3

I am a wife, a mother, an assistant principal and a work in progress!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, God's word and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have become my mom!

  1. Ava says:

    Thank you for this beautiful insight. It brought a tear to my eye. I also have become my Mom and I am thankful she was a lovely Christian lady. I also strive to become more like my Heavenly Father each day and beautiful devotions like yours point the way! God bless!
    PS. Love you and your Mom–you have a wonderful clone!!

    Like

  2. 77snow77 says:

    Hi Ashley, I know your Mom and I agree – she is a lovely, special woman. I enjoyed reading your post. You are a talented writer and I can see that God is going to use you to His glory! What a joy! Keep up the good work. By the way, Ava is my sister (: What a blessing to have all these dear people in our lives. God is so very, very good! Sandra

    Like

Leave a Reply

