Talking with my hands!

If you have ever spent more than five minutes with me, you know that I cannot keep my hands still when I talk.  I have never had a conversation which didn’t include spontaneous hand motions, arm waving and larger than life gesticulations! Why just tell a story when you can EMPHASIZE EVERY POINT! Ya’ll, if we are ever trapped in an elevator together, please, for your own safety, do not ask me to tell you a story, as in such an enclosed space someone might lose an eye from a well-developed plot point! Seriously, if I had to sit on my hands, heaven forbid, I would be utterly unable to carry on a conversation.  

More than just talking with my hands, I have a habit of touching the person that I am talking to.  A pat on the arm, a hand on the shoulder, or even, in a moment of great levity, a complete arm-around-the-shoulder side hug.  Heck, who am I kidding?  If I talk to you for more than five minutes I will most likely just full on hug you before I walk away. Bottom line, if I have a point to make, I emphasize it with my hands! (You have been warned!)

Have you ever considered that the most important point in the history of the world was emphasized through the use of hands?  Jesus’ hands.  Jesus continuously used his hands to demonstrate the depth of his love for us.  During his ministry Jesus did not keep himself set apart; refusing to touch us in our sin infested state. No, he waded right in to the messiness and difficulties of human life and touched us body and soul!  With his hands he healed the sick, restored sight to the blind, and made the lame to walk. He gathered children to himself, washed the feet of his disciples and broke bread with them.  He reminded us again and again through his loving touch that we are his most valued creation, which by the way, he formed with his hands at the beginning of time. Then, in the ultimate emphasis of his unfathomable love for us, he stretched his hands out across the rough, rugged beam of a cross, where they were bludgeoned and pierced for our sins. His precious hands, nailed to the cross in order to set us free! Has there ever been a point more completely emphasized than his amazing, unfailing love for us?! Then, when things seemed to be the darkest, when his disciples were frightened and scattered; questioning all that they had witnessed for themselves, it was Jesus’ nail scarred hands that served as conveyors of the truth of his resurrection!  

Today, Jesus continues to extend his hands to us.  He desperately wants to emphasize his love, salvation, mercy, healing and grace.  He guides us, lifts us and carries us in his precious, steadfast hands.  Yes, my Jesus, still talks with his hands!

About andanotherthing3

I am a wife, a mother, an assistant principal and a work in progress!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Faith, God's word and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Talking with my hands!

  1. Sarah says:

    Talking with your hands, touching, and hugging links two of the most important things in human life together; one: communication, and two: touch. If one masters the art of doing both at the the same time I think that speaks to how truly spectacular that person is.

    Like

  2. rebecca thomas says:

    you always make me and dad proud of the marvelous woman you have become we love you dearly

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ava says:

    Amen, sister, preach it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

